Noon Rush

Noon Rush
A weekday it was I’m sure,
Crossing the road, right in the middle I stood,
Couldn’t traverse the streets, the road was full.
After a score of minutes from noon the time stopped,
I couldn’t move an inch from that white painted equator.
Wondering what all these people were upto.
Cycles, rickshaws, bikes and cars, what work did they peform that time.
Toddlers coming back from preschool in buses,
A man taking his sick wife to the doctor,
Ladies car pooling for a kitty coffee.
A young fellow following a maid,
Some tax officers in a jeep planning a raid.
Soon, noon rush didn’t quite appeal to me.
But I found a kid who held my hand,
Planted a kiss on my confused cheek,
Said tomorrow at the same time he would meet.
Taught me life could surprise anytime.
Little packets of hope and glimmer shining through the scorching heat.

One thought on “Noon Rush

Leave a Reply

